Start a new topic

API code for adding multiple events to a constituent record

Hi

I'd like to be able to add multiple events from an event enquiry from on a constituent record.  The code I wrote below does not work. No events are imported.  The participant attributes are the same for all the constituents I'm new to coding and I'd be so grateful for any advice on my coding below. 

If Import.Fields.GetByExcelName("R").Value.ToLower.Startswith ("x") THEN
    Import.Fields.GetByExcelName("AY").Value = "SL2P17"
    Microsoft.VisualBasic.MsgBox(Import.Fields.GetByExcelName("AY").Value.ToString)

End If

If Import.Fields.GetByExcelName("S").Value.ToLower.Startswith ("x") THEN
    Import.Fields.GetByExcelName("AZ").Value = "SFBZ17"
    Microsoft.VisualBasic.MsgBox(Import.Fields.GetByExcelName("AZ").Value.ToString)

End If

If Import.Fields.GetByExcelName("T").Value.ToLower.Startswith ("x") THEN
    Import.Fields.GetByExcelName("BA").Value = "SFSTM17"
    Microsoft.VisualBasic.MsgBox(Import.Fields.GetByExcelName("BA").Value.ToString)

End If

Thanks so much in advance.

Felicia

Felicia - Two questions:
For the fields AY, AZ, and BA, how do you have them mapped? Is to Event ID?
In addition, where do you have this code? which procedure do you have this code in?

Hi Steve

Yes AY, AZ and BA are mapped event ID. 

I don't understand your 2nd question.  The code is written in code editor (Launch code editor in virtual field).  I don't have any procedure in which to have this code in.  

I'm sorry if this is so stupid sounding. I'm new to this and not quite sure where I'm going wrong.

Thanks so much for helping me.

Felicia

Felicia - What I mean by the second question is that there are "procedures", or what could also be called events in this case where you can put code. You will see lines of code such as the following:
Public Overrides Sub BeforeImport(ByVal Cancel As ImportOM.API.iCancel)
Public Overrides Sub BeforeComputedColumns(Cancel As ImportOM.API.iCancel)